Senate Reshuffles Committee Chairmen, Removes Buhari’s Loyalists 

Heads of four standing committees in the Senate have been reappointed to other committed by the President of the Senate, Dr. Bukola Saraki.

Saraki, who made the announcement at the end of plenary, stated that the Chairman, Senate Committee on Police, Abu Ibrahim (APC, Katsina State) has been redeployed to the Committee on Labour, while Tijjani Kaura (APC, Zamfara) takes his stead.

-The Senate President also announced that the immediate past Senate Majority Leader, Ali Ndume (APC, Borno) now heads the Committee on Establishment, while the newly sworn-in APC senator from Bauchi State, Lawal-Yahaya Gumau heads the Committee on Federal Character.

-Ibrahim is seen as a staunch loyalist of President Muhammadu Buhari and confidant of the Inspector General of Police, Ibrahim Idris, who has been having running battle with the Senate.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.