Barcelona star escapes punishment
No Spanish FA punishment for Gerard Pique.
Spanish FA has confirmed the Barcelona defender will not face any punishment following his goal celebration against Espanyol on Sunday. The Catalans were on the verge of losing the game against Espanyol but Pique equalized and went over to the home fans with a ‘shushing’ gesture. The celebrations saw RFEF schedule a meeting to decide if action was appropriate. Javier Tebas, the La Liga president had hinted earlier that a ban was possible due to Pique’s celebration provocative nature, but a decision was not up to him.
“ Goal celebrations which cause offence, and which are not reflected in the referee’s report but can generate tension are totally rejected by the league and, from now on, will be forwarded to the RFEF’s competition committee for the appropriate action to be taken, “ the league had said in a statement.
Espanyol had complained about Pique calling them Espanyol from Cornella (the area in which their stadium is located) rather than from Barcelona, their official title. Despite the complains, they had not reported the incident.
The 31 year old suffered a knee injury during the game but has been included in Barca’s squad which will face Valencia in Copa del Rey on Thursday night.